Hellooooooooooo! Welcome back to my site and thanks for being here!

Our top story today concerns the backdoor container garden oasis. It got a summer makeover!

Let’s take a look at the before shot:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Ooh, it was a little ratty.

Most of the “mess” was the garlic and onions planted last November. I was only too happy to clean that up. Here’s part of my harvest:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Yay – my first ever garlic harvest!

I’d planted cloves in two of my big containers in late fall, and in several smaller containers. Recently, I cleared out the garlic from the two big containers to make room for summer crops like the tomatoes, peppers and chayote squash.

I harvested 20 garlic cloves! Some were kinda small – they could’ve percolated in the soil for another month or so. But overall, wow, I feel like that’s a great score for my first foray into garlic growing. And there are more cloves “cooking” still.

Naturally, I had to make my first ever garlic braid:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Voilà!

I’M SO EXCITED!

Seriously though, the garlic deserves all the credit – it grew when no one else wanted to grow, all winter long.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I thought the onions, planted alongside their cousins, would fare equally as well over the winter. But instead, most of ’em have been flowering. Wanh, wanh, wanh.

If I’m to believe the people in some gardening forums – and I’m inclined to, as they strike me as sensible folks – starting onions from sets doesn’t work very well. Probably would’ve behooved me to visit the forums before I tried growing my onions from sets.

Anyhoo.

I suppose I’ll be collecting seeds for the next onion-growing experiment. Maybe I’ll finally get lucky with some of the seeds these (eventual) flowers (will eventually) produce:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Here’s one planter, devoid of onions and garlic, and newly planted with peppers and chayote:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

(The oregano and parsley were already growing there.)

Oh, and the chayote:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Ew, gross, one wasted no time rotting. The others looked great, though. Into the container they went.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

“Grow well, little buddy!”

And now, the cleaner, more summer-oriented containers:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Muuuuuuuuch better.

Later in the day, a little better view of the second container that now holds the tomatoes:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

That’s got me fired up for the new growing season.

I’m not going to let the grasshopper invasion (and the other zillion summer bugs) in Albuquerque dampen my spirits just yet. Right now that garden is full of hope, and I intend to keep it that way for as long as I possibly can!

That’s the news from Casa Liza.

I’ll be back tomorrow with the May 2014 Garden Nonbloggers’ Bloom Day, photos of pretty flowers for you to enjoy from some of my readers who don’t have blogs of their own. Hope to see you here.

