Here are the week’s top plant headlines:

Dean, one of the Synadenium grantii houseplants living on the east windowsill, has completed his lifelong goal of touching the ceiling:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

The cuttings for two varieties came from mr_subjunctive (of the Plants Are the Strangest People blog) a few years ago. Both plants would’ve reached their goal sooner, but I’ve propagated them a bunch of times.

There will be a potluck celebrating Dean’s achievement this Friday at noon. For more details or to RSVP, please contact Nel the Spider plant in the living room.

In other news, the Echeveria that’s been blooming for months on my kitchen windowsill suffered a tragic accident recently:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

His handpainted clay pot was totaled when he careened off the windowsill into the kitchen sink. The cause of the accident was under investigation. The lead investigator (me) believes the accident occurred before sunrise. There are no photos from the crime scene because I had to move the plant so I could make coffee. Nothing gets investigated before I get coffee.

Later, I moved the plant to a grower’s pot. Later still, I unceremoniously sold it. Investigators don’t expect any new leads in the case.

Moving on to outdoor plants, at least one of the Chayotes is starting the growing season off strong:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good job, little buddy! [Insert applause.]

And finally, an update to a story we brought you last week involving two foreign caterpillars.

As you may recall, the caterpillars were first noticed in the backdoor container garden oasis, feasting on the parsley there. They arrived with no luggage and no identification, but as they were believed to be future Swallowtail butterflies, they were welcomed.

Here’s one of them, working his way down toward more leaves:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

The caterpillar was on the move. After he ate his fill, he kept going down the container. Luckily, he was easy to spot. He just moved to the grass down below the parsley:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I really, really hoped that he’d stay right there, and I’d have a front-row view of his chrysalis stage. Here’s a wider view of where he went:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Can you see him between the two pots? Here’s a closer look:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

It wasn’t a bad spot to become a butterfly! He climbed down on Thursday morning and settled there.

Meanwhile, the other caterpillar wasn’t done eating.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

She continued eating on Thursday, and Friday morning.

I took the following photo on Friday morning – it’s a little hard to see, but both caterpillars are in the frame, one up top and the other down in the grass:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

When I got home from Santa Fe on Friday evening, there was only caterpillar poop left:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

At first, I hoped the second caterpillar settled on the grass below, too, but it turned out, they were both long gone.

The first one must’ve just been waiting for the other to finish eating, before they set off together to find a place for their next stage. I find that astonishing. And so sweet! (I suppose it’s possible they were plucked off by birds, but I choose not to believe that.)

I looked all over for them, thinking how far could two caterpillars get anyway? I knew there was only a short time that I’d be able to find them before they blended into the scenery.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I checked around and behind the containers, along the fence, in the cane, over by the woodpile. There’s not a ton of vegetation in the driveway so I checked all of it for good caterpillar hiding spots.

I never did find them.

I’ll stay on the lookout for new butterflies in the area. In the meantime, I have parsley stems to remind me of my visitors’ brief stay:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

That’s the week’s plant news. I’ll be back tomorrow, I hope to see you back here.

