Here are the week’s top plant stories:

The Chayotes are continuing with their lofty ambitions to reach the top of the trellis. I’m cautiously optimistic about their chances. However, they do have a ways to grow:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I pulled a few more onions, a couple of which turned out full-sized despite bolting. That bodes great for future winter onion-growing experiments:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Even though many of the onions I’ve harvested have been small, I would call the winter-growing experiment a success overall. I planted fifty sets, nearly all of them grew a little, most of them grew a lot. With the limited amount of growing space I have, if I can move the onion growing to the winter months, that would be awesome. I’m going to keep experimenting, the next time starting with seeds from some of the bolted plants.

Also in the news, more Osteospermum blooms:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I can’t imagine ever tiring of their cheerful little mugs.

In other flower news, PORTULACA!!!!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

This particular Portulaca plant is in a very inhospitable spot, so kudos to her for growing and blooming all by herself. It’s an impressive accomplishment.

And now for the week’s top story.

The container by my backdoor that houses these gorgeous Zauschneria flowers:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Is also home to a bunch of wasps. No bueno!

I noticed them a few weeks ago, it became apparent they were living up in the bottom of the container:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

It’s hard to see them in photos, but they’re flying all over the place. I could see them crawling in and out through the gap between the container and the sidewalk.

At first, I was inclined to leave them alone. They weren’t bothering me, I wasn’t bothering them. We had a zenlike arrangement.

But they started multiplying, and becoming aggressive. It became apparent that I couldn’t let them continue. They have stingers! I also have a neighbor in back who shouldn’t have to pass through a gauntlet of wasps every day. They’re no different from goatheads or other noxious pests in my mind, and so I decided to eliminate them.

I asked Lewis (our very own Expert Lewis) for advice, and he recommend rubbing alcohol. Said they would be overcome by the fumes.

I decided to try it. Since there was no way to pour rubbing alcohol into the container, I poured some on to a paper plate, thinking I would slide it under the container in that gap above the sidewalk. I didn’t even get the plate pushed under – I set it down next to the container – before the wasps began dying. Within minutes, they were all dead. It was astonishing. I’ll spare you photos of the carnage.

It’s always a little unnerving to me to cause mass death like that. I’m a peaceful person! At the same time, I’m not going to voluntarily give a bunch of mean stingy flying bugs a free place to live. If the honey bees would like to move into the wasps’ place, they are welcome. I’m not worried about them stinging me – we definitely could work out a zenlike bargain to coexist. But then, they’re not aggressive like wasps are either.

One bright spot, no Zauschneria flowers were harmed during the killings.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Those are the week’s top plant stories. Thank you for tuning in. I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you back here.

