Hello summerheads, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Yay! It’s Friday, and the Experts are back from their blogcation! I know I’m happy to see their smilin’ mugs. How about you?

Let’s get the Friday Festivities started by saying, “Hi Experts!”

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

So cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

I was curious to know what the Experts did during their break, so I asked them. Here’s this week’s question:

Q. How was your break – did you do anything fun you’d like to share with us?

Expert Andy, you’re up first as usual:

A. Well, I’m a basket of fun, let’s get that straight and understood right now.  My biggest highlight over the break was hiking Mt. Humphries in Flagstaff, AZ to the tune of 12,633 ft. from about 7,500 or so, over 5 miles in about 3 hrs.  It was an awesome hike and I was glad to do it with my dear girlfriend Stacy Strawn.  We left my cabin at about 6:45am on July 6th, started the hike at 7:45 or so, and made the peak at 11am.  I’m including a photo so that you can all see the accomplishment.  I’m getting old but I still can gut out a hard, taxing hike.  If any of you are ever near Flagstaff give me a call and I’ll take you up.

IMG_0425

 

A. Samie and I at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

photo-108

 

A. Lots of work. Little fun. I did talk to a former major leaguer who is now coaching in Taiwan. I talked to a firefighter who hits a golf ball about as long as anybody in the world. I talked to a guy who went to Brazil to serve on a committee that decided disciplinary matters for the World Cup. And I had an enjoyable walk among cool sprinkles, knowing the harsh heat will return soon enough.

——————-

Expert Dottie is going to be on break a little longer. In the meantime, let’s admire her adorableness:

And then move on to Expert Lewis:

A.

I stared at the Purple Lady, at least that’s the name I gave her years ago when I first saw her on the street a cold winter day wearing a long old purple coat

Today I saw her as she walks out from behind the dumpster at a fast food establishment, have you ever been near a dumpster on a hot day, oh what a sweet smell

photo-106

She has lived on the street since time began I think, I have seen her there since the 1990’s. She never talks or least to me, but she has a pretty smile, I did greet her one time in my van but only got that smile

Many years ago I had a winter job driving the ABQ Rescue Mission shelter’s van, transporting homeless from cold winter streets to a warm safe shelter for at least one night, she rode my full van a few times on bitter, bitter cold nights, but many a night she waved us on and just continued to walk

She carries her life always in plastic bags and bags and bags, walking every where, never have I seen her grace a seat on a bus

Where she lives is unknown, but I imagine there is not a back lot, alley, bridge or dumpster she has not visited in her lifelong quest for ??????

They say she walks with an odor and hair has never known a comb, soap and shampoo are not friends, but that also is one of her defenses for the streets run rampage with those of low or no morals or wit, who would do her harm, but I think she also has long knife hidden in her garb, for she obviously knows how to survive the hell out there

Her demure modest, shy, indifferent to the world racing by her, clothing as seen from my safe car, seems to always be multiple layers, old worn dirty shirts and pants, never a hat and a face tan weathered and worn old as the ages but true age ???? 2, an old blanket thrown over her shoulders, no matter the season, today, it was hot and the blanket was there, but yesterday it did rain, so it was shelter maybe

For shoes her feet were covered with rags and bags wrapped around and around, maybe there are sparkling new shoes underneath that she is trying to keep neat for her dancing lessons

She is probably as health as a horse

We the normal one or so we think, would label her with a dozen names, tags or curses but I will not cast the first stone

So What did I do for the break of the two weeks, away from the toil of writing to appease the loyal blog masses with wit, wisdom and BS

I sat in my nice, dry, cool and safe house, eating meals of plenty, rode in my car and on my bicycle, earned a paycheck, paid taxes and social security, talked with loved family and friends, took my pills, slept in a clean bed and watched the great rain (yea, yea, yea) from my sheltered life

Oh yes I counted my blessings and

Wished Purple Lady good day, may you someday find your way home

Wow! You guys are extraordinary! A mountain climber, a world traveler, an ace reporter, and a humanitarian.

It sounds to me like there’s been no lack of excitement in your corners of the world. Thank you for sharing your stories with us. We looking forward to hearing more from you. Readers, I hope you enjoyed their stories and photos, too.

That does it for our Experts Panel for this week. The Experts will return next Friday. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, the current puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last time, I asked if these flowers were real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “Okay, okay, I’ll guess on the plant puzzler. Real.”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Its definitely real…. I’d be clever but I’m hiding from my boss at work right now… shhhhh”

Thanks, fellas. This was not a popular puzzler.

That’s two votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Very real and very pretty! They were growing in the mountain countryside in Santa Fe. I thought they were too pretty to resist using as a puzzler. Real plants are always prettier than fake ones.

Well done, guys! I appreciate your eagle eyes when it comes to these puzzlers.

mr_s, you were first with the correct answer, which makes you the best answerer. You didn’t break any speed records or anything, but neither did anybody else so that’s good enough to earn you a new epithet to use this weekend.

Here’s your title: mr_subjunctive First in Plant Puzzling Swiftness, Protector of Anthuriums, Capable Equestrian, Collector of Seashells and Canned Pears, Defender of the Right to R&B Music, Proud Environmental Action Team President, Skilled Movie Theater Attendee, Guardian of Cheesefries, Proficient Quilter, Part-time Helicopter Pilot and Possessor of Immense Plant Knowledge.

For example, if you’re at the farmers’ market this weekend, and you start chatting up one of the vendors, you should introduce yourself as mr_subjunctive First in Plant Puzzling Swiftness, Protector of Anthuriums, Capable Equestrian, Collector of Seashells and Canned Pears, Defender of the Right to R&B Music, Proud Environmental Action Team President, Skilled Movie Theater Attendee, Guardian of Cheesefries, Proficient Quilter, Part-time Helicopter Pilot and Possessor of Immense Plant Knowledge. They might give you a discount!

Congratulations! You may also multiply all the prizes by a mascarpone dessert. Thanks for playing!

To show my gratitude for you playing, I’d like each of you to have the following prizes: Four summer fun days, a standing ovation, one new migration route, 13 1/2 extra credit points, two rebel yells, a multicolored jump rope, seven kudos, a new chandelier for the dining room, a free camping vacation, one bowl of your favorite ice cream, improved choreography, three botanic libations, one miniature pirate, two crispy pulled pork sandwiches, a lush environment, 11 bonus points, one bronze sculpture in your likeness, five court jesters, an A+, a wooden cutting board, several rising tides, and a midsummer’s breeze. Congrats, and thanks again for playing!

Now, let’s move on to the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

We’ll do flowers again. Are these flowers real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, July 24th, to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s Panel of Experts. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

