Around sunset a few nights ago, I went out to photograph my mid-summer garden. I took this one photo:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, July garden

And realized I had a garden visitor in the photo. Do you see her?

There’s a little Black-chinned hummingbird sitting on the red stakes in the container at the left. I saw her and thought that she was very sweet to pose for me like that.

(I should say that I think it’s a Black-chinned hummingbird. Females don’t have a black chin. She may be a Costa hummingbird – they look a lot alike and both types can be found in the desert.)

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

She hung out for awhile!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

This was as much as my camera would zoom. I didn’t want to move and risk scaring her.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

But I shouldn’t have worried because I already knew how much she liked this garden. She’s been coming around the Zauschneria for awhile now, and now that the Agastache is blooming, too, all the birds have been in heaven.

Hummingbirds love plants with trumpet-shaped flowers – they’re perfect for long bills. The Zauschneria ‘California fuchsia’ is on the right, Agastache ‘Hyssops’ on the left.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

A couple of weeks ago, I was standing inside at my kitchen sink and I noticed one of the female birds – maybe the same one in the photos above – enjoying the Zauschneria. Then I was enjoying her, enjoying the flowers.

I watched as she stuck her bill in one of the long orange flowers. And another. And another. Then, she put her beak in one that was a little past its prime, and it got stuck on her beak! She started shaking her head but the flower stayed stuck. So she flew to the trellis and sat down. There, she started shaking her head again, which caused her to wobble a little. She looked like a tiny drunk bird.

Finally she shook her head violently enough that the flower fell off. She regained her composure (but not her dignity) and flew away while I giggled.

It was quite the amusing show.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, a cute little garden visitor

