Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my back door container garden oasis

It’s looking very July, don’t you think? Lush, full, growing.

The only disappointment is the Chayote, which still hasn’t grown. I have no idea why. Last year I thought it didn’t grow due to inconsistent watering, but this year it’s been on a drip system the whole time. It grew well in the beginning, then just stopped and hasn’t done anything since. (It’s in the container on the left, with parsley, oregano and peppers.) I’m stumped.

Have any of you ever tried to grow Chayote, maybe have some tips for me?

Everything else is growing great. The blue Penstemon is in a rebloom, so that’s helping the flower box look even better:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my back door container garden oasis

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my back door container garden oasis

You can see why the hummingbirds are in heaven.

Whatever critters (I suspect grasshoppers) had been eating the Gazania buds has stopped so now those are flowering again, too.

I get a lot of joy from these containers!

