Despite the poverty, despite the violence, despite the poor education system, despite the police aggression and lack of leadership, I love this city, my adopted home. I’m not the only one. There are lots of us who love it here.

Even when crazy stuff happens, it’s still home. Here’s an example of crazy: A few days ago, I was east-bound driving on Silver Avenue by 6th street, and I saw a man in a black Charger who had been parked by Cecilia’s Cafe trying to hang a u-turn into oncoming traffic (Silver Ave is a narrow street, not a lot of room to maneuver). He stopped, I drove past him, looked at him, and then I stopped at the red light at Silver and 5th. He completed his u-turn and came up behind me. Well, I guess the red light was taking too long for his liking, because he pulled around me and sped through the intersection – thankfully no cars were coming – and flew down Silver Avenue, also running the red light at 4th street. I got another good look at him as he went past. As I sat at the still red light, I thought, wow, that’s ballsy, even for Albuquerque. You don’t usually see people deliberately breaking the law like that.

Fast forward to yesterday, when someone who witnesses described as driving a black Charger, shot at a car full of women, killing one of them and injuring the others. Horrifying! He sped away, on the loose, and is considered armed and dangerous. A few hours later, his photo was plastered all over the news as a person of interest in the shootings. I’m absolutely sure it’s the same guy.

Here’s the creep:

Delgado_homepage-520x389

There’s no doubt in my mind this is the driver of the black Charger who ran those red lights a few days ago. Police are still looking for him. I hope they find him soon so Albuquerque can have one less asshole terrorizing the city.

So that was crazy. But it doesn’t shake my love for this city. Not by a longshot.

*Update* – here’s more on the shooting from the Albuquerque Journal – click here.

As I mentioned, I’m not the only one who loves this city. Please check out this video homage to the city, it was created by my talented friend Brian Fejer, and it’s awesome:

The Lights of Albuquerque

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

