I don’t think I’ve mentioned this on the blog before, but I’ve had a little munchkin named Lou for 14 years. Got him as a kitten, and he’s been a great friend to me ever since, until this morning when I found him dead.

One of his favorite things to do was to go outside, roll around in the dirt until he was filthy, then he would proudly come back inside and jump on my bed, or my lap. Here’s a photo of him dirtying up my lap:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, rest in peace my little Lou

He was the sweetest little boy. And funny, he loved water, so I was forever finding him playing in the sink, toilet or bathtub. No glass of water was safe when Lou was around. He would even dump his crunchy food into his water bowl before he would eat it.

I loved him so much. I knew there was a risk in me letting him come and go as he pleased, but I took that risk because I know how much cats enjoy being outside and guarding their territory. It made him vulnerable to the coyotes and raccoons, but it also made him happy. He died a happy kitty. I miss him already.

