Hello Decemberists, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Oops, I did that thing again where I meant to publish this post on Friday but got too busy. Sorry about that! December goes fast, doesn’t it?

We’ll get to some puzzler action in a minute, but first, since our beloved Experts are on a break (they’ll be back soon!), let’s admire their adorableness:

 

And then get started.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Claude from the Random Rants and Prickly Plants site wrote, “Real. Dracenea I think.”

Niteflyrwoman from the Niteflyrwoman blog wrote, “Real looks like it has a booboo on its leaf back there lol”

Joseph Brenner from Texas wrote, “Real! But, be careful, those booboos are getting popular with the fakers, lately.(B>{D}”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “Looks pretty real to me!”

Chelby10 from The Modern Day Safari site wrote, “Judging from the dried edges from some of the tips I’d be inclined to say real…”

That’s five votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Perhaps a wider view will help us see:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

It’s real! And wow – how pretty! I do think it’s a Dracaena like Claude said, but I’m not sure what kind. It could be a marginata, but if that’s true, it’s by far and away the healthiest Dracaena marginata I’ve ever seen. It’s gorgeous! In my experience, marginatas tend to lose their lower leaves on a fairly regular basis.

Joseph, do they really make fake plants with flaws now? Hmmm…maybe this puzzler reaches farther than I thought it did! I’m confident that plant lovers won’t be fooled by the new fakery!

Real plants are always prettier than fake plants. Even with their flaws. Why bother with fake plants when you could have something like the above beautiful plant gracing your living room? I can’t think of a single good reason.

Congratulations everyone! You nailed it. I’m not surprised at all – you’re very good at these puzzlers, and I love you for it!

To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like to award you the following prizes: One full moon weekend, three pats on the back for a job well done, a golden crown, salami, nine kisses on your cheek, 16 1/4 bonus points, one ambassadorship to diplomacy, Manzano Mountains, 11 lemon meringue tarts, Miss Piggy’s tiara, an extra large serving of wasabi, one deluxe birdfeeder, swag, Angelina Jolie, camino pinones, seven creative streaks, two extra hamstrings, chartreuse, 14 time passages, four solids, an early Christmas bonus, a file cabinet, three asteroids, five wistful gazes, one chocolate trophy, a new scarf, Rio Chupadero, justice for all, provolone cheese, Dennis, two bespectacled flamingos, integrity, one symphony, 12 1/2 pistachios, five grins and a new toaster!

Congratulations, and thanks for playing!

Up next, a new puzzler for you:

???Real or Fake???

Is this flower (and the plant) real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? I’ll give you one hintish: This is not a photo of my own Euphorbia milii.

Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, December 11th,  to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winners next Friday. Good luck!

