Hello Janubabies, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Yay for Fridays! I hope ya all have a great weekend on tap. To get the weekend off on the right note, I’ve got lots of festivities for you. For one thing, our Experts are back!!! Oh, how I’ve missed them. Have you? Also, we’ve got plenty of plant puzzler action for you.

Let’s get things started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

It’s a new year. Let’s find out what’s in store for our beloved Experts. Here’s this week’s question:

Q. What are your hopes and dreams for 2015?

Expert Andy Williams, you’re up first as usual.

A. I hope to remain healthy and alive in 2015.  So far so good.

I hope my family and every friend enjoys the same.

I hope the Colts make the Super Bowl and finally beat the perennial cheaters, the Patriots.
I hope gas stays below $2/gallon.
I hope the Hoosiers make the NCAA tournament.
I hope for a sunny, 70 degree day for the Indy 500 on May 24th.
I hope the Diamondbacks don’t lose 100 games.
I hope I get to go skiing before the snow melts.
I hope I don’t have to go to China more than 3 times.
I hope my new lease on happiness continues to thrive and awaken my inner soul.
I hope for another hole-in-one.
I dream of the work finish line such that I can enjoy what life really has to offer on my schedule.

A. Hopes and dreams…I’m not familiar with those. Can you explain?

A little middle-aged self-pity humor for you, I kid, I kid. Most of my hopes & dreams revolve around my daughter, I want her to continue to grow, to learn, and to be happy. That would be enough for me.
I’d also like my 401k to magically go up 2000% so I can retire in 2016.

A. I hope that there are still dreams for most to have.  That people still have time to read. Food for those who need food. Clean water for those who lack it. Soft, soaking rains in the summer and kinder winds in the spring. Less violence everywhere.

———————–

Expert Dottie may join us later in the weekend if she’s feeling better, but for now she’s unavailable. Waaaaah! We miss her so! But we understand – her health is much more important than this blog. Let’s wish her well, and admire her adorableness:

And then move on to Expert Lewis Casey. Lewis, what’s on your mind?

A.

When we dream we are given a glimpse into the future, glance of the past, a window of today

Of what may or may not be of what life hold for you or me

We have no guarantee’s, we have no promise made, the world gives us little besides a place to stand

Truth we are given, Yes it is true we die

My little old Aunt Anita fulfilled the truth last week and went home to be with family

The night she passed I had a dream

Anita found herself walking in a vast and glorious park filled wondrous plants, animals, birds of song, waters and earthly treasures.

She came to an area of the plants and flowers she loved and there to greet her was her family that had gone ahead

My cherished Mother and my Father at her side,  my Uncles Louie, Gilbert, Baldo and her dear Mother Natalia / Granny

and a host of others with a few angels thrown just to sing

Hugs and kisses and tear of joy, smiles and cheers and love aplenty for we are together again

Old eye old no more, pains gone, bodies no longer broken from wounds of war, hearts healed, spirits soar,

Dreams I got plenty, till we meet again

Thank you Auntie, love you

Oh Lewis, I’m sorry for your loss. But that is a very sweet dream that you were blessed to have. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Gentlemen, I enjoyed reading your unique takes on the future, and past. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, I appreciate it very much.

Readers, I hope you enjoyed their responses, too. I hope you’ll also join me in wishing Dottie a speedy recovery, and that you’ll check back to see if she’s able to share her hopes and dreams. Obviously, considering the rich and long life she’s had so far, I’m fascinated to hear what her perspective is on 2015. If she’s not able to let us know this week, we’ll give her a platform next Friday to do so.

Ok, that’s it for this week’s Panel of Experts. The Experts will return next Friday, they hope to see you back here.

Up next, the answer to the current plant puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Anthurium plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Oh wait, you didn’t really answer.

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “I feel like it would be unfair of me to answer, somehow.”

That’s because he’s an Anthurium Expert and is growing herds of them at the moment. I encouraged him to guess anyway, but I’m pretty sure he didn’t need to because he already knew the answer.

Then Cast Iron Dan commented about the previous week’s puzzler, but didn’t venture a guess on the current one.

Which means, either no one was interested in this puzzler, it was too hard, or I stumped you all. I believe I’ll claim the latter!

Soooo, woohoo! Yay for me!

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzlers

It’s totally real. It was a tricky puzzler because Anthurium flowers look sorta fake and weird (cool weird). I mean, they’re funky, right? I love them, but I can see why it would be hard to say whether they were real or fake.

But with the wider view, you can see the flaws in the leaves which pretty much are a sure sign of being real, because most real plants have flaws. The discolored areas don’t make them ugly, they remind us that plants are living creatures with flaws just like humans. Which makes them like, a million times more awesome than fake plants, which contribute nothing to the world.

So again, yay for me – victory is mine! It seems a little over the top to give myself imaginary prizes, so I’ll give myself one real one: Another vacation starting January 31st. That’s right, this gal who hasn’t traveled much at all lately is going to take a second break only a couple of weeks after the first. I’ll share some more Albuquerque art while I’m gone, so you don’t come to my blog for nothing. Also, tomorrow I’ll post photos of my most recent getaway, I hope you check back for them. Beautiful place I visited!

That does it for this puzzler…let’s move on to the new one:

???Real or Fake???

Let’s start with the wider view this time. Is this Jade plant real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzlers

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, January 29th, to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winners after next week’s panel of Experts. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

