At the risk of making my readers on the East Coast unhappy, I’m going to show off photos from my recent trip to Puerto Rico. It was snowing in Albuquerque while I was on the island, so I understand if some of you want to punch me right now.

We started the trip in Old San Juan, exploring adorable streets like this one:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Buildings were colorful, the people very laid back.

Another typical street:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

We made our way to El Morro, an old fort on the tip of the island. There was a cool cemetery there.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

This is the view from the fort:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

And looking the other direction:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Strangely, this is the only photo I got of the actual fort:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

I guess you’ll just have to use your imagination.

After exploring San Juan for a day, we boarded a tiny plane for two days on Culebra Island. It was a 30 minute flight. The pilot flew along the shore so I could take photos.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

This is the island of Culebra:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Coming in for a landing!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

It was a little dicey there at the end, but overall I loved that little plane ride.

Our hotel:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

The view from the hotel was lovely, a nice little bay:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

I didn’t take a lot of photos those couple of days…mostly because we were doing island things, like snorkeling and swimming with sea turtles.

But on our last day there, before boarding our flight, we drove the golf cart all over (the island is only seven miles long), and I brought my camera along for that.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

This was my favorite beach, Zoni – it was so beautiful, and a sea turtle nesting site:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

This was a view from the golf cart as we were leaving Zoni Beach:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Check out this incredible Bougainvillea hedge:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

It went on forever:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

Oh wait, I did get a photo of the fort, from the air on the way back to the main island:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

And now the plant portion of this blog post.

As you can imagine, there were lots of plants that I was unfamiliar with, and lots of plants that I recognized but couldn’t believe they were growing the way they were growing.

Like I’d never seen Fiddle Leaf Figs (Ficus lyrata) growing in the wild (I’ve only ever seen them as houseplants):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacation getaway

I saw lots of plants growing outdoors that I’d only previously seen as indoor plants. Like these Tradescantia plants:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

And this Dracaena marginata:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Is this a Pothos (Epipremnum) growing outside?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

So cool!

I wouldn’t have guessed these Dracaena reflexa ‘Song of India’ plants would be fine growing outdoors either, but there they were, happy as anything:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

And now, a few random island pics that I just found on my phone:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

And finally, before I go, a quick story. Before leaving the island of Culebra, we were eating lunch at Zaco’s Tacos. They had an upper patio, and a lower one – we were sitting on the upper patio. We were minding our own business, when suddenly we heard a big ruckus, followed by a waitress’s bloodcurdling scream.

Turned out, an iguana fell out of a tree, landed on the slanted roof, then slid off and landed with a thud on the lower patio, a couple of feet from the terrified waitress.

Lemme tell ya, nothing brings an entire restaurant together like an iguana falling from the sky.

He was quickly surrounded by cell phone cameras.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, vacay photos

He was unharmed, but no one could give him his dignity back.

