Just for the fun of it, I thought I’d bring you along on my Memorial Day adventures. Ok, adventures may be overstating it a bit, haha. I didn’t do anything too exciting, but a day in the mountains is always nice, right? Of course it is! Especially when you have great company.

First, there was Mendelssohn (and other composers) in the park in the town of Cochiti Lake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

The concert was courtesy of the Los Alamos Choral Society. They were AWESOME. Everyone had a wonderful time. A delightful treat for the ears.

There was bird-watching at Mom’s house (Mom being the aforementioned great company):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Beautiful Western Tanagers! They eat grape jelly and orange slices. Silly birds!

There were also silly dogs:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Who DEFINITELY WANTED TO TAKE A WALK!

So walked we did. In one of New Mexico’s most beautiful areas. Check out how pretty it is:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Our walk led to Cochiti Lake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

It’s usually more blue than that, but they released a bunch of water from the dam, which stirred up lots of muck. Still pretty though. (Those are the Sandia Mountains in the upper right.)

The view the other direction:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

There were storms dancing across the sky all day. But the biggest, baddest one was on my way back to Albuquerque. I know I shouldn’t photograph while driving, but I did anyway. I mean, see how menacing this storm looks:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Memorial Day adventures

Holy moly! That’s a big storm!

But that’s great, because we’re in the desert. We’ve been getting lots of rain lately. Unexpectedly. Everywhere you look, it’s green. I’ll try to get some more photographs in the coming days so I can show you how amazing everything looks.

So, what did you do over the Memorial Day weekend?

