Hi everyone! I apologize for dropping off the face of the Earth there for awhile. I don’t have a good explanation. I haven’t been taking my camera around the city to photograph artwork, hence, no photos a day. And working a lot of hours. But there’s not a good excuse for leaving you hanging.

I did have my camera and my cell phone yesterday, when I drove to Sedona to help celebrate Dottie’s upcoming 89th birthday. Here’s what I saw on the way there:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Arizona wildfire

(I didn’t stop, this was taken as I drove. I know, dangerous, but wow!)

This is a photo I took on the way home, with my phone, from a nearby rest area:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Arizona wildfire

It was not only spooky and creepy, but also mesmerizing and beautiful. But mostly scary. It’s in a remote mountainous region, so officials will probably let it burn itself out. I believe it must’ve been lightning sparked, because it’s in a densely forested area, not really a place for campers or tourists. Some monsoon storms rolled through the area earlier that afternoon.

It’s much different than the wildfires in California, where homes and communities are threatened. I can’t even imagine how terrifying that must be for those folks. It’s also tiny in comparison. Those California (and Oregon and Washington) firefighters have their hands full, and my thoughts and prayers go out to them.

If you’d like to know more about this particular fire, which they are calling the rattlesnake fire, click here. Like I said, it’s small and remote. But still, to see it in the distance, is chilling. I know that fires are natural and necessary to forest health, but that makes them no less frightening.

I’m very grateful no humans are in harm’s way because of it.

I’ll try to get back to a regular schedule soon. Thanks for your patience!

