I’ve noticed that the hummingbirds and the bees have been taking turns dominating the feeders. Today I changed the sugar water out, and 30 seconds later, the feeders looked like this:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, birds and bees

It’s difficult to see, I know, but there are about two dozen bees flying around or crawling upon the feeders. Ten seconds after I took the photo, I spied a male hummingbird attempt to get in there, but he split instead.

Which is too bad, because for the past two weeks, more birds have been coming (4-6 birds from what I can tell) and enjoying the food, pretty much all day every day. When I’m home, I can hear them humming and chirping endlessly. And I love it! I hope they stay all winter.

But then a couple of days ago, the bees showed up and bird activity has declined sharply. Yesterday, the bees disappeared, and the birds returned. Today, the bees returned and the birds disappeared.

Later in the afternoon, I noticed everyone disappeared:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, birds and bees

Just before sunset, everyone was still gone:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, birds and bees

Boo!

