My little ragtag backdoor garden:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's new garden

Featured are: A rosemary plant, a Euphorbia milii (the cuttings I brought back from Florida – they’re doing so-so these days, better since they’ve arrived outdoors), a poppy plant, my citrus tree, basil, and a Lantana plant.

The citrus tree has been struggling. She lost a LOT of leaves during the move to Phoenix. Wanh, wanh, wanh.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's new garden

Poor baby!

But she held on to the one fruit she produced before the move. A fruit that I naively believed would turn yellow any day:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's new garden

A fruit that never did turn yellow. Which means it’s a lime, not a lemon. Which means the tree I bought had been mislabeled. I had my suspicions when the fruits from last year didn’t yellow, and of course, tasted like limes. But after that harvest, I forgot all about them.

The tree has actually started to do better, putting out new leaves, now that it’s outdoors. Citrus trees in outdoor Phoenix are a good fit – it should do really well here.

But now I want a lemon tree. And maybe an orange tree, too.

