Well, this certainly was a welcome sight when I got home this afternoon:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Amaryllis bulbs in the mail

It was a rainy-ish day, gloomy, chilly for Phoenix, and it hadn’t gone particularly well (although there were good aspects). When I got home and spotted this box by my door, and checked the return address, it instantly brought a smile to my face.

My regular readers should be able to guess what’s inside fairly easily.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Amaryllis bulbs in the mail

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Amaryllis bulbs in the mail

Hippeastrum bulbs!!! (Or, amaryllis bulbs, as they are more commonly known.)

My awesome cousin Billy Fox has made this a thing for the past few years, sending bulbs to all the women in the Fox Family Clan (he may send some to the men, too, but I’m not aware of that). It’s one of the most thoughtful, touching gifts I’ve ever received. To keep getting them year after year means so much to me!

And especially this year – I wasn’t forgotten in my new city!

It seems that these bulbs will produce shiny white flowers, with a bit of pale green on the interior. Sounds gorgeous to me!

Before planting them, I soaked them in a bowl of water:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Amaryllis bulbs in the mail

Not for long, maybe 30 minutes or so. I got a little distracted doing other tasks while they soaked. I meant to soak them for a few hours, but I was also anxious to get them planted before sunset. Bulbs (and most plants) have an amazing capacity to grow even if you don’t follow growing rules down to the letter. Most times, they can thrive with minimal care.

They are not very large bulbs, and my window sill space is limited, so I planted them together in one pot. It’s a pot I’d previously painted red with blue trim, so when the white flowers eventually bloom – probably in January – it’ll seem like the Fourth of July in winter.

Which, obviously, will be way cool. Here they are planted up and watered before I brought them indoors to their new location:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Amaryllis bulbs in the mail

Billy, you’re the best. Thanks for thinking of me year after year with this thoughtful and kind gift. It means so much! I miss you like crazy! Maybe we’ll get to see each other during the holidays? I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

