I managed to get my hands on some more “leftover” succulents recently. This time they were on sticks:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, new succulents but this time on sticks

Sticks? Sticks. Poor little plant fellas!

Oh, florists. The lengths you will go to add texture to your flower bouquets.

(The bouquets themselves were actually quite gorgeous – I’m not dissing them. But I feel sad for the semi-butchered succulents used in the process.)

I kept the succulents on sticks in a glass until I got to planting them.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, new succulents but this time on sticks

Even though the plants had no roots, I wasn’t worried. Succulents will grow roots easily and quickly given the proper conditions. But first, I needed to free them.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, new succulents but this time on sticks

Oooh, that was not pleasant for me or the plants.

But they were troopers:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, new succulents but this time on sticks

Does anyone remember the container I made with the cuttings from a Kalanchoe rhombopilosa spelled out to make a cursive letter “L” for Liza? (Click here to see the post.)

Well, that letter is long gone, as the plant struggled during the move. As embarrassing as this is, this is what she looked like as of a few days ago:

https://goodtogrow.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/monday-lizas-plants-kalanchoe-plantmanship/

Not good!

So, new succulent “heads” to the rescue. Here’s what the container looks like now:

https://goodtogrow.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/monday-lizas-plants-kalanchoe-plantmanship/

Much better. There’s one more succulent head that landed elsewhere, I’ll show you that in a few days. For now, I feel better knowing the Kalanchoe has new friends and the succulent heads aren’t in a dumpster somewhere in Scottsdale.

Now, if they’ll just grow roots and settle in nicely. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

