Despite very good, creative guesses from you, no one has yet properly guessed what I’m planning on doing with my formerly hanging storage units. I didn’t want to throw them away, and after a bit of pondering, I thought of a wonderful way to repurpose them.

Nooooow can you tell what I’m planning to do?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Repurposed storage units

Still no? How about now?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Repurposed storage units

That’s right. They are going to be my new garden containers. I’m planning on growing all my vegetables and herbs in them. They should work great – the mesh backing of the storage units now will provide drainage for the containers. They are deep enough for the plants’ roots. They are sturdy enough to last at least one growing season (I don’t expect them to survive for years on end, but for $7 a pop, one season is awesome).

Yes, they are a far cry from the beautiful containers I had in Albuquerque. But will they work? I sure hope so. I’m excited to try. In Phoenix, the growing season happens while the rest of the country is digging out from winter snowstorms.

In other words, the growing season is now. I’ll keep you posted on how this growing experiment goes. If anyone wants to chime in with advice or cautions, I’m all ears.

