My, my, it’s February in Phoenix, so that must mean it’s growing season, right? I’m hoping so.

Here’s what my former hanging storage units turned container garden look like now:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, 2016 vegetable and herb garden

Tomatoes, peppers, lemon cucumbers, beets, parsley, oregano and basil. The soil at the base of the containers is for flowers, specifically, zinnias and Zauschneria (California fuchsia).

Not sure if the beets will make it or not – it may already be too warm for them. It’s going to be in the 80s all week.

The same goes for the butter lettuce and radishes I planted – I may have missed the cool season they prefer. But I’m trying anyway. I put them in the shade (pictured below) so maybe they’ll be ok.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, 2016 vegetable and herb garden

Another experimental planting is strawberries! I love, love, love strawberries!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, 2016 vegetable and herb garden

I’m not sure how they’ll do. I don’t have a tower for them like I did a few years ago, so they’re going to have to adapt to a confined space.

I planted some flowers along with all the veggies and herbs. Still looking for a decent container for the chayote squash.

I’ll install drip irrigation in the next few days so that everyone will have plenty of water.

All in all, the backyard is quietly transforming from all rocks to a desert oasis. Which is good, as I spend lots of time outside. It definitely feels good to get my hands dirty again.

 

