My sweet neighbor Randi bought a beautiful Fiddle Leaf Fig (Ficus Lyrata) about a month ago. She recently noticed spots on some of the leaves, and asked me for help.

Here’s what one of leaves looks like:

img_4503

I’m not terribly familiar with her tree. I like how Fiddle Leaf Figs look. I like how they make a corner pop. But I’ve never grown one. Never even cared for one during 14 years of caring for interior plants.

There is a ton of conflicting information on the Web, so I’m hoping that with your help, we can clarify the problem and subsequent solution.

I look at a leaf with spots like that and my gut says, that’s not a water issue. If it was overwatered, the brown spots would most likely be around the edges of the leaf, not in the middle. If it was underwatered, the whole leaf would turn brown. They’re not bruises – those would be more obvious (leaves can get damaged, for example, from the car-ride home from the nursery).

What do you think? Do you have experience with these types of trees? If so, please leave a comment, and I’ll pass your knowledge along to Randi. Thank you!

 

