Hello mockingbirds, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Yay, the weekend’s here! Friday is the day we goof around on this site. Not that we don’t goof around other days, but pretty much the sole emphasis on Fridays is silliness. You know, because it’s Friday and all.

Currently, our beloved Experts are enjoying a needed break. Let’s admire their adorableness:

 

And move on to the plant puzzler.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Tina wrote, “I always wonder about this kind of plant “decor” and exactly WHY some people decide to take this route. This one must be the sister or brother of the fake one from a recent post. Fake. Very fake. But the “pot” seems nice.”

Lewis couldn’t hold his tongue (our own Expert Lewis) wrote, “Happy Happy birthday and may you have long life and much joy as you bestore your wit, wisdom and charm upon those who come to GTG and upon the others who have been blessed by your presence”

Thanks Lewis, you rock!

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “This is horribly fake. Looks all dusty and yucky!

But enough of that. Let’s move onto more important things like…

♫♪ Happy birthday! ♪♫ I hope you are having a wonderful day. And I wish you a great year ahead!”

Thanks Martha!

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Fake, fake, fake! (Huh. I completely forgot to comment last week!)

And belated happy birthday, Liza! I hope you had a great day!”

Thanks Ivy!

Tina added, “A birthday? Hey! Happy BDay Liza! My plants send you their best wishes!!”

Thanks lady! And plants!

Dave from Our Happy Acres wrote, “Happy Birthday Liza! WP must have eaten my earlier comment. I saw an atrocious looking fake plant yesterday in the home of the local KY Master Gardeners. It doesn’t say much about the MG program if you have faux plants for decor, does it now?”

Oh dear, it sure doesn’t! I wish you’d taken a photo for us!!!! Next time, don’t be shy!

Tom from Midwestern Jungle wrote, “Fake!”

That’s five votes fake, zero votes real.

So what’s the correct answer?

Maybe another view will help (even if it’s not that much closer of a photo):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Fake! And dusty! And ugly! Tina, I’m with you, I don’t know why anyone would spend money on ugly fake plants when they could’ve bought beautiful living plants instead. I can understand wanting the splash of green. But that’s about it.

And Tina, it looks like you were the first with a correct answer, which makes you the best answerer. Congrats! For being so speedy, you’ve earned the title of “The Firstest, Bravest, Northern Most, Premierest, Swiftest, Of Hastiest Typing, Prettiest, Giantest Brain, Overallest Grandest Championette of the All Houseplant Blogs in North America and Most of Europe But Not Necessarily.”  Congratulations! You may multiply all prizes by two maple glazed donuts.

Everyone’s a winner this week – great job! To show you my gratitude for playing, I’d like to award you the following prizes: Four peas in a pod, coffee, 13 1/3 bragging rights, five skinny mints, stargazing twin toads, six pepper-seasoned croutons, 17 extra credit points, three sliced beets, a small medium at large, one bicycle wheel and applause. Congrats everyone, and thanks for playing!

Let’s move on to a new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this Ficus tree real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

I will give you a hint: I looked at it, did a double take, and then I did a triple take. It threw me that far off my game. Also, I’m not asking about the viney plants behind and to the right of the Ficus tree, just the tree itself.

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, March 14th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) next Friday. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.