I’ve arrived in New Mexico!!!!

Like champions, these green guys survived the 8+ hour car ride!

They’re a little beat up and need some TLC but they’re going to be just fine, I believe.

The tomatoes are still producing despite not even being planted anymore! Silly plants!

I harvested six tomatoes yesterday after arriving!

Here’s what everyone looked like after the long car ride:

When I was sitting in that empty apartment, it was hard to focus on happy emotions or even hopeful ones. But the last few weeks have been overwhelmingly hopeful and optimistic.

I think we as people have a hard time seeing past obstacles when they’re right in front of us. That night, I was faced with feelings of loss. But now that there’s a little air in between that night and today, I can look back and see other factors were at play. For example, there was a train that derailed on the New Mexico/Arizona border…so if I’d left on my drive that day, I would’ve run into closed highways and lengthy detours. Because I stayed, my good friend Liz was able to alert me about the accident and I was able to successfully find an alternative route Sunday morning, bypassing what could’ve been hours of delay.

So was my sadness all for naught? No, I think it’s important to acknowledge our emotions for the purposes they serve.

Also, years ago when I was fresh out of college, I remember being terrified to move out of Indiana, the place where I was raised. But I made a decision to acknowledge the fear but not let it stop me from moving forward. Fear is valid but not a good enough reason not to do something. So I left Indiana, but I’ve never left that decision to face my fears – I’ve carried that with me to present day.

All of that to say, despite being sad, and fearful and feeling a little lost, I was going to go forward no matter what.

And now here I am, in the Land of Enchantment, which I love. Back with friends and family who I love.

I start the new job on Wednesday. I don’t regret the work I did for a global corporation but it definitely feels more in line with my values to work for this local Albuquerque company and invest in my beloved community. I’ve always had a strong work ethic (thank you, Indiana) so now instead of working hard for a company that doesn’t appreciate it, I’ll funnel that work to a company that values me for my skills and knowledge. Hopefully we’ll all grow together and have a positive impact on the city.

I’ll keep you posted! Thank you for reading, and for your continued support!!!